Glenmuir Icon Sunderland Icon Macwet Icon



Following a win at Celtic Manor in 2010, 2012's 'Miracle at Medinah' and a victory by 5 points at Gleneagles in 2014, the 2016 Ryder Cup at Hazeltine National Golf Club in Minnesota saw the cup returned to Team USA.

Like at Valhalla in 2008, Team USA led throughout the tournament, with captain Davis Love III dedicating the win to Arnold Palmer who had died earlier in the week.


Team Europe was captained by 2011 Open Champion Darren Clarke, supported by Vice Captains Thomas Bjørn, Pádraig Harrington, Paul Lawrie, Ian Poulter and Sam Torrance. Team Europe included Rory McIlroy, Danny Willett, Henrik Stenson, Chris Wood, Sergio García, Rafael Cabrera-Bello, Justin Rose, Andy Sullivan, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Lee Westwood, Martin Kaymer and Thomas Pieters, with 6 out of 12 players making their first Ryder Cup appearance.

Davis Love III, who had captained the unsuccessful US Team at the 2012 Ryder Cup, returned to lead Team USA at Hazeltine in 2016. He was supported by Vice Captains Tom Lehman, Jim Furyk, Steve Stricker and Tiger Woods. Team USA, consisting of just 2 rookies, included Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth, Phil Mikelson, Patrick Reed, Jimmy Walker, Brooks Koepka, Brandt Snedeker, Zach Johnson, J. B. Holmes, Rickie Fowler, Matt Kuchar and Ryan Moore.